Sorry for the lapse in posts, school really started to kick my butt. Four more days...
Someone pointed out to me the other day that I am graduating in about a week or so. One real final, and then I'm done. And no, I'm not walking, but we will definitely celebrate.
I just can't believe four years are over and done with. As a small, blonde freshman, if I had been told that I would been going to graduate school, be engaged and planning a wedding, and working at an accounting firm by the time I got my degree, I would have burst into a fit of giggles (because that's what freshman do, giggle that is).
Looking back at all this, I feel so blessed as to what I have now. I would have never imagined that someone like Justin would have come into my life (mainly because I had put all my eggs in one basket), but now it wouldn't make sense without him. He's pretty much my rock (especially when I have to study for five straight days or there's a roach in the bathroom), and I can't thank God enough for him.
Anyway.
What's so crazy to me is that this whole Bachelor's thing isn't even a big deal to me. I understand that this is an opportunity not a lot of people get, and I should be proud. Trust me, I'm very happy to graduate, but with everything else going on right now as well, this whole undergrad thing seems small in comparison. I mean, I just got a part time job at an accounting firm, Justin and I will finally be living in the same town (or metro area anyway), and I just received a scholarship for graduate school. Everyone else in Starkville is living it up. Yeah, I get that we're seniors and this is our last hooray, but is it sad that I just don't care anymore? What I have going for me beyond is so much better, I'd rather just sit around with my pup and count down the days until I'm Mrs. Lewis and I have a Masters. I mean, I hate to say it, but I won't miss Starkville. I had some great times, and there were times when I was completely happy there, but my head and heart are elsewhere now, and that's just part of growing up.
So please, don't think poorly of me. I'm not trying to be selfish or arrogant in saying that it's not a big deal that I'm graduating. But seriously, I just have better things planned that I'm looking forward to. Way better things.
Other than this little bit that's been on my mind, I've just been studying, packing, watching Glee, and trying to eat all my frozen food.
Oh yeah, and this handsome fellow tried to help me start loading the car yesterday. Found his perfect spot.
(You seriously didn't think I'd post something without adding a picture of Beaux now, did you?)
I've seriously got to get back to studying before Mom senses that I'm not and calls to get onto me (just kidding, Mom!).
I hope that everyone else has something in their future to look forward to that makes them anxious, excited, extremely happy, and stressed. Because life wouldn't be worth it any other way.
Friday, April 27, 2012
Tuesday, April 10, 2012
easter holiday
(sorry this is late. too much is going on, and there's not enough of me to keep up at the moment.)
Hope everyone had a Happy Easter spent with family and friends. Unfortunately, Justin and I could not go to church Sunday to celebrate the Resurrection, but I did find this image (on Pinterest, who would have imagined) that I'm just currently obsessed with for this time of the year.
This will definitely be something that I will want to print out and frame for Easter decorations (much better than rabbit figurines everywhere).
Other than that, we just soaked up family time together, and headed back to the MS Sunday afternoon. Oh, and by the way, our lovely Easter lunch was brought to us by Moe's Southwest Eatery. It was delicious, but nothing like Mom's deviled eggs. Sunday night I had a group meeting so I didn't even have time to take Justin home. So yesterday, we went to Madison to have our belated Easter lunch (my mother willingly cooked a ham, green beans, potato casserole, and made deviled eggs basically for the second day in a row so that I could get my fix, aka, I love that woman to death). I spent some much needed Madison family time, and skipped my morning class today to sleep in.
![]() |
| It's Matthew 28:1-10, if you can't read it :) |
Now onto why Justin and I didn't go to church. No, we're not heathens (I don't think), our plans were changed in the middle of the day Thursday, and instead of heading to Franklinton to be with Justin's parents, we packed up and left Madison at 6:30 Thursday night headed towards Chattanooga. Melissa, Justin's sister, was admitted back into the hospital that morning with labor pains, bless her heart. Needless to say, we thought we might have babies this weekend, but it was a no go. We still got to spend time with Justin's parents, and it was a bonus to see Melissa and Matt (her hubby). For a small woman pregnant with twins, she is the cutest, I must say. Hopefully God will be as kind to me and I can be a cute preggo too. Melissa is doing well (as any 35-week lady with twins), and is going back to the hospital tomorrow to begin real labor, so keep the three of them in your prayers. Wish Justin and I could have stayed longer, but to be honest, we would have just been in the way. I am excited to be an aunt (in-law?) anytime soon though!
Anyway, we decided to make the most of our trip. Justin went fishing with his dad and brother, and I had some time to do my never-ending Cost homework (seriously, even the teacher says it's too much work). We even took in a baseball game!
| not bad seats for $5! and the beer was cheap too! |
| i really do hate baseball. but love this guy. |
Now things are back to normal with a Cost test on Thursday. I should have started studying tonight, but things don't always go the way we plan. And I'll live (and hopefully my grade will too!).
Hope everyone else has a productive week. If you need me, I'll be in a corner on campus somewhere learning about spending and efficiency variances and budgets!
Thursday, April 5, 2012
Monday, April 2, 2012
sprained ankles and hummus pizza
Crazy title, huh? And no, it's not a belated april fool's prank.
I did sprain my ankle, and it sucks. I guess it was Wednesday, and I was sitting on the porch with a friend and the pup. We had just finished a good dinner and were sitting outside (still gossiping) when all of a sudden, Beaux took off after another dog. I ran after him, but unfortunately, missed a step on the porch stairs (mainly because one of them is falling apart aka I'm blaming my landlord) and landed on the brick path ankle first. So I laid around Thursday with this guy:
And on Friday, I did basically the opposite and ran errands before Justin came to town. And boy, did I wear my ankle out from Kroger, the post office and the liquor store. So we just rested Friday night, and visited with the friend that he carpooled with. Anyway, Saturday we took Beaux to the dog park, and he loved it. Someone had set up a kiddie pool, and he had a blast. He'd run around like crazy with the other dogs, and then jump in the pool. Again, we realized that Beaux needs a place to run around and swim once we move somewhere. (Unfortunately, that won't happen for the next year, as Justin is signing a lease on an apartment in Clinton, but we'll make it work.) Beaux even made a girlfriend at the dog park.
Now, we'll get onto the hummus pizza. I found this recipe on Pinterest, and because hummus is my new favorite food, we gave it a try. Though mine was not as colorful as the picture on the recipe, it tasted darn good. And didn't look too bad.
I had to add feta cheese, because what's pizza without cheese? Other than that, we just soaked up as much time together as we could, watched Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (way intense) and Adventures of Tintin (not that great). Oh, and bought a vacuum (one of the best things about Saturday, actually). Then Justin had to leave Sunday afternoon (very sad face), and it's back to the work week. I have a test and a project this week, and then we'll be that much closer to graduation (aka I'll be closer to Justin and that's what's really exciting!).
I didn't want this weekend to end, but I found this image earlier today, and think that this is an excellent way to look at Mondays when the weekend was just too perfect!
Hope everyone has a great "My Day"!
I did sprain my ankle, and it sucks. I guess it was Wednesday, and I was sitting on the porch with a friend and the pup. We had just finished a good dinner and were sitting outside (still gossiping) when all of a sudden, Beaux took off after another dog. I ran after him, but unfortunately, missed a step on the porch stairs (mainly because one of them is falling apart aka I'm blaming my landlord) and landed on the brick path ankle first. So I laid around Thursday with this guy:
| how could i stay mad at him? |
And on Friday, I did basically the opposite and ran errands before Justin came to town. And boy, did I wear my ankle out from Kroger, the post office and the liquor store. So we just rested Friday night, and visited with the friend that he carpooled with. Anyway, Saturday we took Beaux to the dog park, and he loved it. Someone had set up a kiddie pool, and he had a blast. He'd run around like crazy with the other dogs, and then jump in the pool. Again, we realized that Beaux needs a place to run around and swim once we move somewhere. (Unfortunately, that won't happen for the next year, as Justin is signing a lease on an apartment in Clinton, but we'll make it work.) Beaux even made a girlfriend at the dog park.
| she was really just into him, not the other way around. |
| yummy and healthy? i'll take that. |
I had to add feta cheese, because what's pizza without cheese? Other than that, we just soaked up as much time together as we could, watched Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (way intense) and Adventures of Tintin (not that great). Oh, and bought a vacuum (one of the best things about Saturday, actually). Then Justin had to leave Sunday afternoon (very sad face), and it's back to the work week. I have a test and a project this week, and then we'll be that much closer to graduation (aka I'll be closer to Justin and that's what's really exciting!).
I didn't want this weekend to end, but I found this image earlier today, and think that this is an excellent way to look at Mondays when the weekend was just too perfect!
![]() |
| compliments of Pinterest |
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)


