Sorry for the lapse in posts, school really started to kick my butt. Four more days...
Someone pointed out to me the other day that I am graduating in about a week or so. One real final, and then I'm done. And no, I'm not walking, but we will definitely celebrate.
I just can't believe four years are over and done with. As a small, blonde freshman, if I had been told that I would been going to graduate school, be engaged and planning a wedding, and working at an accounting firm by the time I got my degree, I would have burst into a fit of giggles (because that's what freshman do, giggle that is).
Looking back at all this, I feel so blessed as to what I have now. I would have never imagined that someone like Justin would have come into my life (mainly because I had put all my eggs in one basket), but now it wouldn't make sense without him. He's pretty much my rock (especially when I have to study for five straight days or there's a roach in the bathroom), and I can't thank God enough for him.
Anyway.
What's so crazy to me is that this whole Bachelor's thing isn't even a big deal to me. I understand that this is an opportunity not a lot of people get, and I should be proud. Trust me, I'm very happy to graduate, but with everything else going on right now as well, this whole undergrad thing seems small in comparison. I mean, I just got a part time job at an accounting firm, Justin and I will finally be living in the same town (or metro area anyway), and I just received a scholarship for graduate school. Everyone else in Starkville is living it up. Yeah, I get that we're seniors and this is our last hooray, but is it sad that I just don't care anymore? What I have going for me beyond is so much better, I'd rather just sit around with my pup and count down the days until I'm Mrs. Lewis and I have a Masters. I mean, I hate to say it, but I won't miss Starkville. I had some great times, and there were times when I was completely happy there, but my head and heart are elsewhere now, and that's just part of growing up.
So please, don't think poorly of me. I'm not trying to be selfish or arrogant in saying that it's not a big deal that I'm graduating. But seriously, I just have better things planned that I'm looking forward to. Way better things.
Other than this little bit that's been on my mind, I've just been studying, packing, watching Glee, and trying to eat all my frozen food.
Oh yeah, and this handsome fellow tried to help me start loading the car yesterday. Found his perfect spot.
(You seriously didn't think I'd post something without adding a picture of Beaux now, did you?)
I've seriously got to get back to studying before Mom senses that I'm not and calls to get onto me (just kidding, Mom!).
I hope that everyone else has something in their future to look forward to that makes them anxious, excited, extremely happy, and stressed. Because life wouldn't be worth it any other way.
No comments:
Post a Comment